News Room

News Release

For Immediate Release
May 27, 2010

2010-11 Chapman Scholars Announced

Key Info

  • 2010-11 Chapman Scholars announced
  • Scholarships are for four years
  • Scholarships include tuition, fees, room and board, and textbooks
  • Sponsored by Howard and Betsy Chapman

FORT WAYNE, Ind.—Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) is pleased to announce the 2010-11 Chapman Scholars. The scholarship recipients took part in the Chapman Scholars Competition held earlier this year. The scholarship program stresses civic engagement, leadership, and education for its recipients. Chapman Scholars will receive tuition, fees, room, board, and textbooks for four years. If the scholarships were issued today, they would be valued at $16,000 a year for in-state students and $24,000 for out of state students.

The 2010-2011 Chapman Scholars are:

Srikanth Dasari of Fort Wayne, Ind.: Srikanth is the 2010 Salutatorian of Northrop High School, where he was president of the speech team, captain of the debate team, and vice president of the National Honor Society. He intends to major in biology.

Kevin Villela of Glendale, Ariz.: Kevin is the 2010 Valedictorian of Deer Valley High School. His high school activities include varsity captain of the volleyball team, member of the track, basketball, wrestling, and football teams, percussionist, pianist, and guitar player in band, tutor and freshman mentor, and member of the National Honor Society. He intends to major in computer science.


Kelsey Gabbard of Marion, Ind.: Kelsey is the 2010 Valedictorian of Eastbrook High School, where she was editor of the school newspaper, a member of the Art Club and International Club, and the National Honor Society. She is active in a youth group and young adult ministries. She plans to major in marketing.

Patricia Weiss of North Liberty, Ind.: Patricia is graduating third in her class at John Glenn High School. Her high school activities include varsity captain of the soccer team, founder of the recycle program, member of Rhythm Express, the advanced show choir, treasurer in student government, team captain for Spell Bowl, and a member of the National Honor Society.

The program is supported by Howard and Elizabeth (Betsy) Chapman, who believe an education that includes more than just books, papers, and studying is essential to turn young students into well-rounded, civic-minded adults who are active contributors to the communities in which they live.

Photographs of the Chapman Scholars are available.

For more information on the program, contact Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs William McKinney at 260-481-6116.